Customer Service available Mon - Fri 9am to 6pm EST

Peter Melnick

Peter Melnick

Peter Melnick's musical Adrift in Macao, a parody of film noir written with librettist Christopher Durang, was presented Off-Broadway at Primary Stages after a successful and award-winning run at the Philadelphia Theater Company. The New York production earned Melnick a Drama Desk Award nomination for his music. Melnick also composed the score to Twyla Tharp’s Sextet and, with Bill Russell, wrote two musical one-acts, Patter for the Floating Lady based on Steve Martin’s eponymous play, and A Bad Spell. He is currently collaborating on a musical for Broadway based on Pete Hamill’s novel Snow in August, with book by Roberto Aguirre‐Sacasa, and lyrics by Mindi Dickstein. Melnick’s film scoring credits include “L.A. Story,” the Steve Martin comedy; “The Only Thrill,” starring Diane Keaton and Sam Shepard; Horton Foote’s “Convicts,” with Robert Duvall and James Earl Jones; and Bob Saget’s truly obscene “Farce of the Penguins,” with penguins. Melnick’s television credits include the recent PBS feature-length documentary, “Cinema’s Exiles: From Hitler to Hollywood;” “Indictment: The McMartin Trial;” “Grand Avenue;” and “Lily Dale.”


Samuel French Titles by Peter Melnick