Customer Service available Mon - Fri 9am to 6pm EST


The National Student Playwriting Award, initiated in 1974, is part of the Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program. The purpose of this award is to encourage college students to write for the stage by providing the opportunity for them to collaborate with actors, directors, and others through all stages of production, including rehearsals and performances. The playwright and/or institution chosen for the National Student Playwriting Award may receive the following:

    Production of the play at the Kennedy Center as part of the KCACTF national festival, with all expenses paid for the production and the playwright.The Kennedy Center will award the playwright a cash prize of $2500. Dramatists Guild Award. The Dramatists Guild Award provides the playwright with Active membership in the Guild.
    Professional Development Fellowship. The Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival will provide the award recipient with an all-expenses paid professional development opportunity.
    The Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) Award. ATHE will present an award of $100 to each theater department producing an original student-written, full-length play at each of the eight KCACTF Regional Festivals. Additionally, ATHE will present a cash award of up to $1000 to the theater department of the school producing the National Student Playwriting Award recipient in a public ceremony during the KCACTF National Festival.

The option to publish and license the play with Samuel French, Inc.