loading

1-866-598-8449

Customer Service available Mon - Fri 9am to 9pm EST Sat & Sun 1pm to 8pm EST

Love and Happiness - Full Length Play

Love and Happiness

Julian Sheppard

Full Length Play

4m, 2f

ISBN: 9780822219699

A fast-paced comedy with something for the whole family and witha litt…

More Information Below:

Description | Characters | Author
$9.00
DPS Acting Edition

This item is not in stock, but you aren't out of luck!

Let us know if you need it! We'll notify you once it is available.

Before adding items to your notifications list, please create an account or log-in.


Description

Full Length Play

FEATURES / CONTAINS

Unit Set/Multiple Settings

A fast-paced comedy with something for the whole family and witha little extra for fans of Arthur Murray, Leibniz and the NRA. Allen's happily underachieving life is changed forever when Margaret, his divorced mother, brings home a new man, Clark. Clark sure likes Margaret and thinks Allen is cool just for being sixteen. ButAllen cannot come to grips with the fact that Clark exists and so launches an all-out assault to rid himself of the interloper, at the same time feverishly attempting to reunite his estranged parents. As Allen struggles mightily to come of age and negotiate the limits ofloving his mother, he loses his virginity to his girlfriend, then loses her to his best friend, and his mother to her boyfriend. When all else fails, Allen resorts to violence, stealing a gun and even firing it at Clark. But even this backfires on him, as the gun proves to be awater pistol, and though Clark is knocked down for a while, he recovers. But through his chaotic and desperate actions, Allen and his mother grow closer than ever, and he is able to see for the first time the true meaning of family in today's fractured world. In the end,Allen realizes how much he is loved and is able to move forward in his life, happy in a nuclear family for the twenty-first century.
A fast-paced comedy with something for the whole family and with a little extra for fans of Arthur Murray, Leibniz and the NRA.
Characters

CASTING

4m, 2f

CASTING ATTRIBUTES

Flexible casting

Author

Julian Sheppard

Julian Sheppard's play Buicks was produced by the Underwood Theater; the production received two Drama Desk nominations, including one for Outstanding Play. In 2007, Los Angeles was produced at the Flea Theater in New York. Other plays have been produced in New York at Soho Rep, Miranda Theatre, Blue Heron Arts Center, the Lincoln Center Directors' Lab at the Salon, Juilliard, The Cherry Lane ... view full profile

Other Julian Sheppard titles:

Now Playing
Loading
Producer
City
State
Opening
Closing

You May Also Like

See all