Customer Service available Mon - Fri 9am to 9pm EST Sat & Sun 1pm to 8pm EST

Dream Thief, The - Full Length Play, Dramatic Comedy

Dream Thief, The

Robert Schenkkan

Full Length Play, Dramatic Comedy

5m, 2f

ISBN: 9780871299512

More Information Below:

Description | Characters | Author
Acting Edition

This item is not in stock, but you aren't out of luck!

Let us know if you need it! We'll notify you once it is available.

Before adding items to your notifications list, please create an account or log-in.


Full Length Play

Dramatic Comedy

 "The Dream Thief is about a family faced with a crisis: the illness of the father. It deals with the threat of loss. There is an adult world and a children's world in a family. In crisis those worlds collide, and the play takes place in that collision area. The play is full of humourous and outrageous characters and has strong elements of fantasy" (Robert Schenkkan). Daddy has become mysteriously ill and his two pre-teen children, Susan and Jamie, are convinced that someone has stolen his dreams. In the hospital, they wait up one night to ambush the Dream Thief and, to their astonishment, they challenge and pursue a mysterious and terrifying cloaked stranger into the magical, and now dying, land of Nod. There, they must struggle with ravenous Bedbugs and fierce Night Terrors. They must answer the riddles of the deadly Night Hag. They must face their fears and put aside their differences as they work together to solve the mysteries of this strange and beautiful kingdom. Finally, in the ruined city of Morpheus, they must confront the real and surprising, Overlord of Evil. In the tradition of L'Engle, Tolkein and Baum, here is a new fantasy classic of great charm, humor and heart by the Pulitzer prize-winning author of "The Kentucky Cycle." Area staging.


5m, 2f

Robert Schenkkan

Robert Schenkkan

Robert Schenkkan, Pulitzer Prize winner, Tony Award winner, and two-time Emmy nominee, was born in Chapel Hill, North Carolina but grew up in Austin, Texas. As a Plan II Honors student he received a B.A. in Drama from the University of Texas at Austin (Most Distinguished Young Alumnus, Phi Beta Kappa, Magna Cum Laude, Friars' Society, and Harry Middleton Lecturer.) He received an M.F.A. in Theatre ... view full profile

Now Playing

You May Also Like

See all