Customer Service available Mon - Fri 9am to 9pm EST Sat & Sun 1pm to 8pm EST

Collected Plays of Edward Albee: 1958-65

Collected Plays of Edward Albee: 1958-65

Edward Albee, Overlook Press, The

ISBN: 9781585675296

More Information Below:

Description | Author(s)

This item is not in stock, but you aren't out of luck!

Let us know if you need it! We'll notify you once it is available.

Before adding items to your notifications list, please create an account or log-in.

Licensing Rights for this title are not available through Samuel French.

Three-time Pulitzer Prize-winner and recipient of three Tony Awards, Edward Albee was awarded the Gold Medal in Drama from the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1980, and in 1996 he received both the Kennedy Center Honors and the National Medal of Arts. Ben Brantley of "The New York Times" has described him as ?one of the few genuinely great living American writers.? Now, The Overlook Press is proud to announce publication of the first volume of a three-volume collection of all of this master's plays, some of which have been out of print for years. Volume I contains the eight plays written by Albee during his first decade as a playwright, from 1958 through 1965. These range from the four brilliant one-act plays with which he exploded on the New York theater scene in 1958-59 ("The Zoo Story, The Death of Bessie Smith, The Sandbox," and "The American Dream") to his early masterpiece, "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" (1961-62). They also include two adaptations from notable American novels ("The Ballad of the Sad Caf?" and "Malcolm") and Albee's mysteriously fascinating "Tiny Alice." The volume includes a new introduction by Mr. Albee.
Edward Albee

Edward Albee

Edward Albee was born on March 12, 1928, and began writing plays 30 years later. His plays include The Zoo Story (1958), The American Dream (1960), Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1961-62, Tony Award), Tiny Alice (1964), A Delicate Balance (1966, Pulitzer Prize; 1996, Tony Award), All Over (1971), Seascape (1974, Pulitzer Prize), The Lady From Dubuque (1977-78), The Man Who Had Three Arms (1981), ... view full profile

Now Playing