Customer Service available Mon - Fri 9am to 9pm EST Sat & Sun 1pm to 8pm EST

I'm Black When I'm Singing, I'm Blue When I Ain't and Other Plays

I'm Black When I'm Singing, I'm Blue When I Ain't and Other Plays

Sonia Sanchez

ISBN: 9780822347781

"These seven plays by Sanchez form an emotional and historic bridge from the loud revolutionary power of the 1960s and the 20th century to the more insidious and subtle challenges of this first decade of the 21st."--Charles Fuller.

More Information Below:

Trade Paperback

This item is not in stock, but you aren't out of luck!

Let us know if you need it! We'll notify you once it is available.

Before adding items to your notifications list, please create an account or log-in.

Licensing Rights for this title are not available through Samuel French.

Sonia Sanchez is a prolific, award-winning poet and one of the most prominent writers in the Black Arts movement. This collection brings her plays together in one volume for the first time. Like her poetry, Sanchez's plays voice her critique of the racism and sexism that she encountered as a young female writer in the black militant community in the late 1960s and early 1970s, her ongoing concern with the well-being of the black community, and her commitment to social justice. In addition to "The Bronx Is Next" (1968), "Sister Son/ji" (1969), "Dirty Hearts" (1971), "Malcolm/Man Don't Live Here No Mo" (1972), and "Uh, Uh; But How Do It Free Us?" (1974), this collection includes the never-before-published dramas "I'm Black When I'm Singing, I'm Blue When I Ain't" (1982) and "2 X 2" (2009), as well as three essays in which Sanchez reflects on her art and activism. Jacqueline Wood's introduction illuminates Sanchez's stagecraft in relation to her poetry and advocacy for social change, and the feminist dramatic voice in black revolutionary art.
Now Playing