Customer Service available Mon - Fri 9am to 6pm EST

Tennessee Williams: Plays 1957-1980

Tennessee Williams: Plays 1957-1980

Tennessee Williams

ISBN: 9781883011871

The adventurous and sometimes shocking later works of playwright Tennessee Williams, from 1957 to 1980, are collected in this volume, which includes "Orpheus Descending, Suddenly Last Summer", and "The Night of the Iguana".

More Information Below:

Description | Author

This item is not in stock, but you aren't out of luck!

Let us know if you need it! We'll notify you once it is available.

Before adding items to your notifications list, please create an account or log-in.


Exploring human passion with daring and unflinching honesty, Tennessee Williams forged a poetic theater of raw psychological insight that fused realism and expressionism. Now, in an authoritative two-volume edition, The Library of America collects the plays that reveal a prophetic figure in American life and letters--a writer of generous sympathies and uncompromising frankness who reached wide audiences with plays that revolutionized the themes and styles of the modern theater. This second volume traces Williams's career as it evolved in his adventurous and sometimes shocking later works, including "Orpheus Descending," "Suddenly Last Summer," and "Sweet Bird of Youth," plays that stirred controversy when first produced because of their concern with acts of horrific violence; the satiric marital comedy "Period of Adjustment"; "The Night of the Iguana," a moving drama set in Mexico that contains some of Williams's most lyric writing, and "The Eccentricities of a Nightingale," a re-imagining of the earlier "Summer and Smoke."

"The Milk Train Doesn't Stop Here Anymore," with its use of Kabuki-like stylization, began a more experimental phase of Williams's writing, represented here by "Kingdom of Earth" (also known as "The Seven Descents of Myrtle"), "The Mutilated," "Small Craft Warnings," and "Out Cry." In late plays such as "A Lovely Sunday for Creve Coeur" and the autobiographical "Vieux Carre," Williams returned to many of his earlier themes and settings.

This edition includes a newly researched chronology of Tennessee Williams's life, explanatory notes (including cast lists of many of the original productions), and an essay on the texts.

Tennessee Williams

Tennessee Williams

Tennessee Williams (1911-1983) explores passion with daring honesty, and forged a poetic theatre of raw psychological insight that shattered conventional proprieties and transformed the American stage. The autobiographical The Glass Menagerie brought what Mr. Williams called “the catastrophe of success,” a success capped by A Streetcar Named Desire, one of the most influential works of modern ... view full profile

Now Playing