loading

1-866-598-8449

Customer Service available Mon - Fri 9am to 9pm EST Sat & Sun 1pm to 8pm EST

MacBird! - Full Length Play, Satire/Political Satire

MacBird!

Barbara Garson

Customer Rating: starstarstarstarstar (Rate this!)

Full Length Play, Satire/Political Satire

5m, 2f

NOTICE: Please be advised that Samuel French does not currently vend materials for this title. If you are interested in producing this show, please acquire scripts independently first and then use the button to the right to request a license.

More Information Below:

Description | Characters | Reviews

Minimum Fee: $75 per performance


Description

Full Length Play

Satire/Political Satire

FEATURES / CONTAINS

Interior Set

This seminal satire of the political climate during the 1960's skewers all the major players while riffing on the plot of Shakespeare's MacBeth. John F. Kennedy becomes "Ken O'Dunc", Lyndon Johnson becomes "MacBird", Lady Bird Johnson becomes "Lady MacBird", and so forth. As Macbeth assassinates Duncan, so MacBird is responsible for the assassination of Ken O'Dunc; and as Macbeth is defeated by Macduff, so MacBird is defeated by Robert O'Dunc (i.e. Robert Kennedy). This action is significantly influenced by the Three Witches, representing Students, Blacks, and Leftists. A controversal look at 60s politics, in the vein of Hair and The Living Theatrem, MacBird! is an upside down look at revolutionary politics and culture.
"The funniest, toughest-minded, and most ingenious political satire I've read in years..." - The New York Review of Books

"I have nothing to say about the political truth of this play, but I am sure a kind of genius has gone into the writing." - Robert Lowell

" Will very probably go down as one of the brutally provocative works in the American theatre, as well as one of the most grimly amusing." - The New York Times

Characters

CASTING

5m, 2f

Now Playing
Loading
Producer
City
State
Opening
Closing
Reviews

You May Also Like

See all