MacBird!

by  Barbara Garson

Full Length Play, Satire/Political Satire  /  5m, 2f

NOTICE: Please be advised that Samuel French does not currently vend materials for this title. If you are interested in producing this show, please acquire scripts independently first and then use the button to the right to request a license.

Read more +

MacBird!

by  Barbara Garson

License Estimator

Use this tool for cost estimates based on your specific needs.

  • Cast Size

    Cast Size

    5m, 2f

Additional Info

This seminal satire of the political climate during the 1960's skewers all the major players while riffing on the plot of Shakespeare's MacBeth. John F. Kennedy becomes "Ken O'Dunc", Lyndon Johnson becomes "MacBird", Lady Bird Johnson becomes "Lady MacBird", and so forth. As Macbeth assassinates Duncan, so MacBird is responsible for the assassination of Ken O'Dunc; and as Macbeth is defeated by Macduff, so MacBird is defeated by Robert O'Dunc (i.e. Robert Kennedy). This action is significantly influenced by the Three Witches, representing Students, Blacks, and Leftists. A controversal look at 60s politics, in the vein of Hair and The Living Theatrem, MacBird! is an upside down look at revolutionary politics and culture.
Read more +

Reviews

"The funniest, toughest-minded, and most ingenious political satire I've read in years..." - The New York Review of Books

"I have nothing to say about the political truth of this play, but I am sure a kind of genius has gone into the writing." - Robert Lowell

" Will very probably go down as one of the brutally provocative works in the American theatre, as well as one of the most grimly amusing." - The New York Times

Considerations

License details

  • Minimum Fee: $75 per performance

Production

Casting

5m, 2f
See all +

More

Authors

Barbara Garson

Barbara Garson

Now Playing

Community Experiences